Why do indians wear turbans?

Not all Indians wear turbans. Turban wearing is also not confined to India. It is common among Sikhs, including women, mainly to protect their long hair. They are worn by Shia Muslims, Sufi scholars and some nobility, regardless of religious background, and by women following cancer treatments.