Why are dungarees called dungarees?

The dungaree were first made in seventeenth century India where the cloth used for making cheap robust working clothes was called Dungri. When the English bought the cloth to make workwear trousers they took the name ‘Dungri’ and added a British twist naming the fabric, ‘dungaree. ‘