Why is the coliseum crumbling?

After the devastating earthquake in 1349AD, the Colosseum was plundered of its bare materials. Exhaust fumes and vibrations from cars and a nearby subway are causing damage to the Colosseum and its foundation has been weakened by water from an underground stream.