What spices do you use in chili con carne?

1 onion' 1 red pepper, 2 garlic cloves, 1 tbsp oil,1 heaped tsp hot chilli powder, 1 tsp paprika,1 tsp ground cumin, 500g lean minced beef, 1 beef stock cube, 400g can chopped tomatoes, ½ tsp dried marjoram, 1 tsp sugar, 2 tbsp tomato purée, 410g can red kidney beans, plain boiled long grain rice