What does i. p. a. stand for?

IPA, also known as the Indian Pale Ale, originated as a form of an ale, as the name suggests. Brewed in warmer temperatures, ales take less time to ferment compared to lagers. As a result, this provides a stronger taste compared to a Lager. IPA was created during the British invasion of India.