Why is it called a knickerbocker glory?

The name Knickerbocker is theorized to be named after The Knickerbocker Hotel in Manhattan New York. During the early 1900s, the hotel was pink and cream colored, and renowned by the people of New York. After its closure in 1920, a tall, pink, and cream colored dish was created in honor of the hotel