What part of the cow is steak?

Most steaks from further back on the cow, the best known steaks start at the upper mid section, and proceed back to the hind quarters. Just back from the shoulder is the rib section, and this is the home of the prime rib roast, and not surprisingly, the rib steak and the rib eye