What's another word for gasly?

Modern alternatives to, "ghastly", would be horrible, frightful, shocking. The adjective, "ghastly", has varied meanings going as far back as Shakespeare's use in Henry VI Pt.2 (published in 1623). Thesaurus.com gives nearly 50 synonyms of 'ghastly'.