What happens in cars two?

In Cars 2, Lightning McQueen joins the World Grand Prix, and takes his friend, Mater, with him. While McQueen is racing Mater is mistaken for a spy by British spy agent, Finn McMissile, and is recruited to find about Professor Zündapp's plan to help Miles Axelrod.