Why do dogs like being stroked?

Dogs like to be stroked because it feels good to the dog and is a form of bonding that tells the dog that you are his. The parts of the body where the dog particulary likes been stroked are back of the neck, shoulders,chest especially when done with firm slow hands in the direction of the dog's hair