What does whisk mean?

In cooking, to whisk is to beat a liquid such as a cake batter. Your action makes the liquid into a type of foam. The process usually lightens the liquid but whisking can do other things. For example, you whisk egg whites to create meringue, or whisk high fat cream to create butter.