What's the difference between whipping cream and double cream?

Double cream is the British term for heavy or whipping cream in the United States, but it is a little thicker than our whipping cream. It contains about 48% butterfat. Double cream is so rich, in fact, that it is easy to over whip it and get it too thick. Also know as Devonshire or Devon Cream.