What does profusion index mean?

Perfusion Index is the ratio of the pulsatile blood flow, to the non-pulsatile, static blood flow, in peripheral tissue, like toes, finger tips and, ear lobes. It gives an indication of the pulse strength at the sensor site. Normal range, weak to strong is 0.02% to 20%. Plus or minus 2%.