What does snitch mean?

The word snitch can have a number of meanings. To steal, for instance; Tom snitched Sams book. Meaning Tom stole Sams book. Or to inform; Sam snitched to the police that Tom had stolen his book. Snitch can even mean the nose on ones face, as in; he had an itchy snitch!