How many channel islands are there?

There are eight inhabited Channel Islands - Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Sark, Herm, Brechou, Jethou and Lihou. There are some other smaller islands, which in total cover approximately 75 square miles. The islands of Alderney, Brechou, Sark, Herm, Jethou and Lihou are all dependencies of Guernsey.