Tell me about the world war one?

The Great War, began in 1914 after the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria. His murder catapulted into a war across Europe that lasted until 1918. World War I saw unprecedented levels of carnage and destruction. More than 16 million people, soldiers, and civilians died.