Where was the hottest place?

Death Valley is in the northern Mojave Desert and holds the highest recorded temperature of 56.7C. The air temperature of the aptly named Furnace Creek in Death Valley reaches a staggering average daily high of 46C - making Death Valley the hottest place on Earth.