What letters are vows?

A, E, I, O, and U are vowels. A vowel is classified as "a speech sound produced by a comparatively open configuration of the vocal tract, with vibration of the vocal cords but without audible friction". Y is a semi-vowel. In words like hymn, Y is a vowel. But in words like beyond, Y is a consonant.