What happened to agamemnon?

From Wikipedia UK. When Agamemnon returned from Troy he was killed by his wife's lover, Aegisthus , according to the Odyssey. Some say it was his wife Clytemnestra who actually killed him, or they acted together. There is some mystery about the actual event.