What destroyed pompeii?

Pompeii was an ancient city located near Naples in the Campania region of Italy. Pompeii, along with Herculaneum and many villas in the surrounding area was buried under 4 to 6 metres of volcanic ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in AD 79.