Who is the evil creature in the lord of the rings?

Sauron is the dominant evil power. He secretly forged the ring of power Frodo is carrying, then he lost it. This 'Lord of the Rings' can dominate the other rings of power, and Sauron wants it back. The other dark forces in the tale, like the Ring wraiths and Orcs, are all under Sauron's control