Why was sir walter raleigh decapitated?

James I, distrusted and feared Raleigh, charged him with treason and condemned him to death, but commuted the sentence to life in prison in 1603. He was released in 1616 to search for gold in South America, but invaded Spanish territory so was arrested and executed on October 29, 1618.