What's the meaning of pursuit?

The action of pursuing means to follow, track or hunt someone or something, you can also be in pursuit of an answer to a question, it is a strong determination to get what you want. "Hhe cat crouched in the grass in pursuit of a bird". "He was in the pursuit of happiness".