Can girls grow beards?

A relatively small number of women are able to grow enough facial hair to have a distinct beard. The condition is called hirsutism. ... In some cases, female beard growth is the result of a hormonal imbalance (usually androgen excess), or a rare genetic disorder known as hypertrichosis.