What is a blast furnace used for in minecraft?

Blast furnaces were added in the Village & Pillage update in early 2019. They smelt ore blocks, tools and armour, just like regular furnaces. But they work twice as fast as regular furnaces do! They'll chew through a pile of iron or gold ore like there's no tomorrow, yielding a shiny stack of ingots