How wide is the mersey?

Originating at Stockport near Manchester, the Mersey eventually spills out into Liverpool Bay 70 miles further west. At its widest point, near Ellesmere Port, it is three miles wide. The river has the second-highest tidal range in the UK with spring tides of over 8 metres.