How do you cook the perfect roast potatoes?

Peel and cut into thirds some large floury potatoes, eg Maris Piper. Boil for 5 minutes, then steam dry for 5 minutes. Next, shake in the pan to scuff the edges. Heat duck fat or oil in a tray in a hot oven at 220°C/200°C fan/gas 7, then add the potatoes, baste in fat, and cook for about 40 minutes.