Who was the friend of samuel johnson?

James Boswell, the 9th Laird of Auchinleck, was a Scottish biographer, diarist, and lawyer who is best known for his biography of his friend, the English writer Samuel Johnson. Some regard this work as the greatest biography written in the English language.