What's the musical wicked about?

Wicked is based on the book ‘The Wonderful Wizard of Oz’ and the film ‘The Wizard of Oz’. It tells the story from the perspective of the witches in the land of Oz, particularly Glinda, the Good Witch and Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West.