What is a fifty caliber sniper rifle?

There are many weapons that can be used by snipers, the fifty caliber is the bore size of weapon and the diameter of the round fired ie. 0.50 of an inch or 12.7mm. Probably the most well known fifty cal weapon is the Barrett M82.