How do you know when an avocado is ready?

If the avocado yields to firm gentle pressure you know it's ripe and ready-to-eat. Ripe, ready to eat avocados may have a darker color but color can vary so it is best to go by feel. It will feel lightly soft but it will not feel “mushy” to the touch. Ripe fruit is perfect for that day.