Why is a brandy snap called a brandy snap?

Brandy snaps do not contain brandy and the origin of the name is obscure. It first appears in glossaries of Northcountry words starting with that of John Trotter Brockett in 1825, with a suggestion that the name comes from 'branded' as in burned.