Why does kay mean thousand?

‘K’ originates from the Greek word 'kilo', which means thousand. Kilo has other common uses, for example a kilogram (1000g), or a kilometer (1000m). K has become the shortened form of Kilo, and is now often used when referring to an amount of money, or a price in thousands, for example 100k.