What is hyper normalization?

Hypernormalization describes a failing society that no one can imagine an alternative to. So politicians and citizens alike resign themselves to maintaining the pretense of a functioning one. Over time, this delusion becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy and is accepted by everyone as real.