Why are they called fireworks?

The word fireworks, meaning 'pyrotechnics', comes from the sixteenth century and combines the word fire with the Old English word 'work' meaning 'deeds or actions'. The figurative use of fireworks, meaning 'a display of fierce activity', was first used sometime in the seventeenth century.