Is bread flour the same as all purpose flour?

Plain flour is usually about 10 per cent protein, while strong flour – made from 'hard' wheat – tends to be 12.5 per cent or more. For bread, where you want to trap the gas bubbles that give the loaf its structure and springiness, strong flour is ideal – hence why it's often called bread flour.