What is the study of tears?

Lachrymology translates literally to 'the study of crying'. The basic tenet is that the greatest road to advancement is through pain, both emotional and physical. However, lachrymology has subsequently been exposed as hoax created by Maynard James Keenan of the band Tool and A Perfect Circle.