What is a commander of the british empire?

Anyone who has been awarded the CBE in the Queens Birthday or New Year Honours list, notable CBE recipients include Stephen Hawking CBE, Hugh Laurie CBE, Helena Bonham Carter CBE and Jonny Wilkinson CBE