How many quarters are there in three holes?

12. Fractions represent equal parts of a whole or a collection. When we divide a whole into equal parts, each part is a fraction of the whole. A quarter is equivalent to one part in four. There are four quarters in one whole [1/4 +1/4+1/4+1/4 =1], therefore, there are 12 quarters in three wholes.