Where was charlize theron discovered as an actress?

Her first speaking role was Helga Svelgen the hitwoman in 2 Days in the Valley (1996), but despite the movie's mixed reviews, attention drew to Theron due to her beauty and the scene where she fought Teri Hatcher's character.