Who invented the enigma code?

The Enigma Machine was invented by Arthur Scherbius, who co-founded the firm Scherbius & Ritter. That firm produced machines under the brand name Enigma from the 19 20s. The German military adopted Enigma and enhanced it, but never dealt with its core weakness of using a symmetric code.