What is in bread?

The most basic ingredients of bread are flour, water and salt plus a raising agent such as yeast or sourdough. Sourdough itself is made from flour and water so at its simplest, bread is just 3 ingredients. There are many types of flour and many other ingredients that can be added in the recipes.