Where does the phrase sleep like a log come from?

It is thought to have come from the early pioneer days in North America when lumberjacking was popular. ... The expression is thought to be a metaphor, as the logs cut were large heavy blocks that were difficult to move, and the lumberjacks, once asleep, could be compared to these immovable logs.