Why are the english called limeys?

The ill sailors were suffering from a lack of vitamin C, now known as Scurvy. They had plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables at the start of the trip. After this finding, sailors often brought lime juice aboard ship because it could be stored longer. This is how the got the nickname “limey”.