When was the first jack the ripper murder?

There is some debate over whether or not she was, in fact, the first victim of Jack the Ripper. Some say she was and some say she wasn't. The first definite victim of the killer who became known as Jack the Ripper was Mary Nichols, who was murdered on 31st August 1888.