What's the difference between single cream and double cream?

Single cream is a richer version of milk, with around 18% fat content. You can use it for pouring or adding to coffee. Double cream is the thickest with around 48% fat content. It makes an ideal pouring cream, such as when serving with fruit, or it can be whipped and piped for decorating desserts.