What was the first ever sweet?

The earliest sweet which people have eaten since prehistoric times was honey. The origins of confectionery can be traced back to about 2000BC to the ancient Egyptians who made sweets by combining fruits and nuts with honey. The Romans, Greeks and Chinese made sweets with sesame seeds.