Why are fire engines called dennis?

The fire engines themselves are not called Dennis, this was a manufacturer brand name. Dennis Brothers Ltd were a manufacturer of fire engines, buses, trucks, and other commercial and municipal vehicles in the UK and Ireland throughout the 20th Century.