Where does port come from?

Port is a Portuguese wine that is made by adding distilled grape spirit, usually brandy, to a wine base. The addition of the high-alcohol spirit stops fermentation and “fortifies” the wine. Made in Portugal's Douro Valley, only wines that are produced in this region can be labeled Port.