What is the brightest light in the universe?

In 2020, a violent explosion in a distant galaxy has broken the record for the brightest source of high-energy light discovered in the universe. The light was emitted by a gamma ray burst in a galaxy seven billion light-years away. It was a trillion times more energetic than visible light.